Session (Governing Body)

The Presbyterian Church takes its name from the New Testament Greek word for "Elder": presbuteros. It describes the way the church is governed, with oversight resting on elected bodies at the congregational, regional and national levels.

The governing council in each congregation is called the Session, a body made up of men and women known as "Ruling Elders" who have been "set apart" by election and ordination into a supervisory role. The Session meets monthly to conduct the business of the church.

Ruling Elders at Patton Presbyterian Church generally serve for staggered three-year terms, with a third of the Session elected each year.  A Ruling Elder can serve at most two terms before being required to take at least 1 year off.  When a ruling elder is not on session, they still retain the title of elder for the church, which gives the capability to go back on session without being ordained a second time  along with permitting them to serve communion when the need arises.

The Current Ruling Elders of the church are : 
                Ken Cummins,  Edith Sowolla, Marilyn Cummins, June Kania, Jeff Koss,
                Kitty Kovach, Tracy Dixon, and Melissa Hodgson

Committees chaired by Ruling Elders/Elders  oversee many aspects of church life.

The Session Committees are:

Commissioned Ruling Elder: Pastor David O'Hara, CRE
Clerk of Session: Jane Elms
Education/Worship Committee:  Kitty Kovach
Finance Committee: George Merritts
Mission Committee: Pastor Dave O'Hara
Property Committee: Ken Cummins & Melissa Hodgson
Technology Committee:  Pastor David O'Hara
Funeral Committee: Jane Elms

 Other offices and committees and special assignments:

     Nomination Committee:

     Financial Secretaries:  Ken Cummins, and Kitty Kovach 
     Auditors:  James Laverick